Home > 30 Days of Television, Veronica Mars > 30 Days of Television – Day 04: Veronica Mars

30 Days of Television – Day 04: Veronica Mars

Day 01 – A show that should have never been canceled
Day 02 – A show that you wish more people were watching
Day 03 – Your favorite new show (aired this television season)

Day 04 – Your favorite show ever

Well, I have had many shows that I loved throughout the years, but I always come back to one show: Veronica Mars.

Premiering in September 2004, I actually didn’t start watching the show until April 2005. In a strange series of events, my very first episode was “Weapons of Class Destruction” yet I don’t ship the pairing that had their first kiss in that episode. Still, the show holds a strong place in my heart because it was just that good. I even liked season 3, which its fandom largely detests.

Season 1 deals with many mysteries, but the main one is that of Who Killed Veronica’s Best Friend Lilly Kane? The noir themes throughout the season are amazing and I just love it. Not that the later seasons don’t have noir themes, but damn, they were pretty well apparent in season 1. And I love noir. It’s not something you normally see on TV, so of course, the viewing public doesn’t give this show a chance. Plus, it’s on UPN, a channel that gets even lower ratings than the WB. I guess I should be lucky I got 64 episodes or nearly 3 complete seasons. Damn you, CW, for cutting back to 20 episodes for the final season. The five standalones were so not the shining light of the show. Don’t get me wrong, I did love the final episode, leading to the final scene, bringing us full circle and drowning us in noir once more. But man, the arcs made the show what it was.

So I’m not saying much about the show really, but I think it’s best to watch unspoiled, so I’m being all cryptic with certain things yet hopefully alluring you enough to watch. If you have not checked out this fabulous series yet, I urge you to check out this list if you are in the States. A group of fans (including yours truly!) donated over 500 sets of the season 1 DVDs to their local libraries across the States by the end of 2006. All 50 states and all 100 of the top Nielsen markets were represented! At least 100 copies of season 2 DVDs (to the top 10 Nielsen markets) have been donated as well.

Day 05 – A show you hate
Day 06 – Favorite episode of your favorite television show
Day 07 – Least favorite episode of your favorite television show
Day 08 – A show everyone should watch
Day 09 – Best scene ever
Day 10 – A show you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving
Day 11 – A show that disappointed you
Day 12 – An episode you’ve watched more than 5 times
Day 13 – Favorite childhood show
Day 14 – Favorite male character
Day 15 – Favorite female character
Day 16 – Your guilty pleasure show
Day 17 – Favorite mini series
Day 18 – Favorite title sequence
Day 19 – Best television show cast
Day 20 – Favorite kiss
Day 21 – Favorite ship
Day 22 – Favorite series finale
Day 23 – Most annoying character
Day 24 – Best quote
Day 25 – A show you plan on watching (old or new)
Day 26 – OMG WTF? Season finale
Day 27 – Best pilot episode
Day 28 – First television show obsession
Day 29 – Current television show obsession
Day 30 – Saddest character death

  1. July 28, 2010 at 10:30

    damn, i miss veronica mars so much! the show was intelligent, funny and ironic. nowadays there’re only a few shows like that.

    • The TVphile
      August 20, 2010 at 10:42

      I miss Veronica so much. Oh how you speak the truth, Penny!

  1. June 5, 2010 at 23:50
  2. June 6, 2010 at 23:59

Leave a comment